What to Read Next?

There are thousands of business books published each year. During the following months we will put a spotlight on read-worthy books that might tickle your inquisitive mind. Neil Gains, from TapestryWorks, shares his booklist 

We hope this will help you to pick your next good read.  And, if you would like to add to this list, please contact us.

 

Neil Gain’s book picks:

 

The Psychology of Price: How to use price to increase demand, profit and customer satisfaction by Leigh Caldwell

What is the book about?

The Psychology of Price is an overview of the ways in which pricing can be used to create value both for customers and businesses, focusing on how customers interpret and use price in their decision-making.

Why did you read this book?

I am only aware of one other book on this topic (Priceless by William Poundstone), although it’s one of the most important and most under-used tools for businesses to make more money. As Rory Sutherland says on the cover, “essential reading for almost anyone in business.”

[button link=”https://asia-research.net/2014/12/the-psychology-of-price-how-to-use-price-to-increase-demand-profit-and-customer-satisfaction-by-leigh-caldwell/” window=”yes”]Read Review[/button]

_____

Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy by Phil Barden

What is the book about?

Decoded is an introduction to the discipline of Decision Science and its application to marketing.

Why did you read this book?

Any book that discusses the application of behavioural science to marketing issues is always of interest to me. I have also read & heard Phil Barden and his work online and via newMR and didn’t hesitate to buy based on what I’ve seen before.

[button link=”https://asia-research.net/?p=6889/” window=”yes”]Read Review[/button]

_____

The Rational Animal: How Evolution Made Us Smarter Than We Think by Kenrick & Griskevicius

What is the book about?

The Rational Animal looks at human decision-making in the light of evolutionary theories, arguing that many ‘irrational’ behaviors are actually very sensible when seen in terms of how humans have developed

Why did you read this book?

I’ve read extensively on human behavior and evolutionary theory and this is the first book that seems to combine the two, linking common errors and frailties in our behavior to the history of the development of our species. It should be a fascinating read.

[button link=”https://asia-research.net/?p=7133/” window=”yes”]Read Review[/button]

_____

Contagious: Why Things Catch On by Jonah Berger

What is the book about?

“Jonah Berger knows more about what makes information go viral than anyone in the world”, Dan Gilbert.

Why did you read this book?

Anyone who uses social media either personally or professionally should be intrigued to understand what contributes to creating ‘buzz’ making some things instantly shareable and popular and others instantly forgettable. I certainly do, and this looks like the best book yet on the topic.

[button link=”https://asia-research.net/2014/08/review-of-contagious-by-jonah-berger/” window=”yes”]Read Review[/button]

___

The Age of the Image: Redefining Literacy in a World of Screens by Stephen Apkon

What is the book about?

The Age of the Image is an up-to-date guidebook on using buy flagyl cheap images in an age where visual literacy is increasing and the multi-screen culture is already established.

Why did you read this book?

I’m personally fascinated by the power of imagery and the use of visual storytelling, in film and more broadly. This book promises to review the history of visual literacy (from cave paintings to tablets) and to argue for a new definition of literacy for the visual and digital age. I believe this is an important and long-term trend for all marketers to understand.

[button link=”https://asia-research.net/?p=7240/” window=”yes”]Read Review[/button]

_____

The Information: A History, A Theory, A Flood by James Gleick

What is the book about?

The Information is a cultural history of information and the revolutionary impact of changes in the way that information can be stored, manipulated and used.

Why did you read this book?

Our current age shares many themes with others in which changes in the way information can be stored and used have transformed the world (eg printing press). I’m hoping that James Gleick’s latest book will help put the ‘big data’ era into perspective, and this should be a good companion piece to Nate Silver’s book.

[button link=”https://asia-research.net/2014/10/the-information-a-history-a-theory-a-flood-by-james-gleick/” window=”yes”]Read Review[/button]

_____

Webs of Influence: The Psychology of Online Persuasion by Nathalie Nahai

What is the book about?

Webs of Influence shares strategies for businesses to optimize online behaviors based on the latest psychology, neuroscience and behavioral economics.

Why did you read this book?

Nathalie Nahai has become famous as ‘The Web Psychologist” (I can recommend her podcast) and is notable for taking ideas from a diverse range of fields and looking at how they can be applied to real business problems. In the digital age, these are important skills for all of us.

[button link=”https://asia-research.net/?p=7467/” window=”yes”]Read Review[/button]

_____

The Signal and the Noise: The Art and Science of Prediction by Nate Silver

What is the book about?

The Signal and the Noise deals with the challenges of making predictions and is essential reading for anyone who wants to understand the potential and limitations of big data.

Why did you read this book?

Nate Silver famously beat all the professional pollsters in making predictions about the last two US presidential elections and has written extensively on the limitations of models and experts in accurately forecasting the future.

_____

The Meaningful Brand: How Strong Brands Make More Money by Nigel Hollis

What is the book about?

The Meaningful Brand reviews the data from Millward Brown’s huge databases to find the most important drivers of brand and business performance.

Why did you read this book?

This is a good compliment to my own book Brand esSense, using data from arguably the leading company in brand research to determine what factors drive brand success. Given that two of the four keys are ‘meaning’ and ‘delivery’ I’m confident that I will enjoy reading this book.

Neil Gains